Back to Basics

It’s been nearly 6 months since my last post. How’s that for consistency?

Now, to be fair, I did spend the summer working at Two Rivers Soccer Camp without any reliable source of internet. Once again, I had an exceptionally rewarding experience and enjoyed the break from Facebook, email and the 24-hour news cycle.* Still, I failed to contribute a single post to my own blog for the entire spring term as well. I could make excuses, but instead I’ll utilize the advice Colbert received earlier this week from Frank Luntz, who said that one of the most effective things a politician can do is to apologize three times. So, per Luntz’s advice:

“I apologize. I made a mistake. Please forgive me.”

That felt good. Apparently, the slate has now been wiped clean and we can move forward together without any lingering resentment. Until, of course, I find myself again without reliable Wi-Fi in a few weeks. Which brings us to….

Amman, Jordan. On September 3, I’ll be joining fifteen other American students to begin an intensive Arabic language program with CIEE at the University of Jordan. It will be a foreign experience in nearly every sense of the word and I’m nervous to begin the journey. Nevertheless, it is impossible to describe the excitement and anticipation I feel as I prepare to live and study in such an amazing environment. I’ve been working towards this goal since I began taking Arabic as a freshman and am anxious to see the investment of time and money finally pay off.** While I am abroad, I intend to use this blog as a tool to provide updates and write occasional pieces about how my studies relate to current events in the Levant and beyond.

Until that time, I am home studying and reviewing in preparation for my arrival and the language commitment we each make as program participants. Since I will be writing from a more advantageous geographic location in a few weeks, it seems appropriate and  relevant to narrow the focus of the blog – at least for the time being. So as I continue to catch up on the summer news cycle, I hope to focus my posts on topics related to the so-called “Arab Spring” to embrace this unique opportunity. Just keep in mind that we still function within the greater sphere of public relations here and I intend to connect the dots whenever possible.

Enjoy. Comment. Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

*Notice how I wrote “email” earlier, instead of “e-mail?” That’s new from the AP Stylebook this year. Love it. 

**A special thank-you to any relatives who have contributed your own form of investment to my endeavors this fall –  it means the world to me and I intend to do everything in my power to justify your amazing gestures of faith and trust.  

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Back to Basics

  1. Tiffany Gallicano

    I’m so glad that you have this tremendous opportunity just around the corner. I’ll be cheering you on from Oregon!

Leave a Reply

